Obafemi Awolowo University

Reach out to us: admissionsoffice@oauife.edu.ng | counselling@oauife.edu.ng | transcript@oauife.edu.ng 

Faculty of Clinical Sciences

Dean's Welcome Address

I am greatly delighted to welcome you to the Faculty of Clinical Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife. The Faculty was established in 1992 when the former Faculty of Health Sciences assumed the Collegiate Status. The Then Faculty of Health Sciences was restructured into three Faculties with a central coordinating College of Health Sciences under the able leadership of the Provost. The Faculty consists of 11 clinical departments of Anaesthesia, Community Health, Dermatology & Venerology, Medicine, Mental Health, Obstetric, Gynaecology & Perinatology, Ophthalmology, Orthopaedics & Traumatology, Paediatrics & Child Health, Radiology and Surgery.

Our main thrust as a Faculty apart from service and research is in the primary provision of clinical training for medical students in their fourth to sixth years before they are formally exposed to the employment market as our ambassadors. We also produce postgraduate doctors and other health workers with sufficient management skill to play a leadership role in health care delivery across the globe. Our postgraduate courses include Masters of Science and PHD programmes in Community Health, Public Health and Clinical psychology. Many more postgraduate courses are about to commence in a short while.

You can know more about us by navigating through our website and please feel free to contact me or any of the Heads of Departments on specific issues. We shall be glad to have feedbacks from you as you visit our site.

As you navigate through our pages I wish you a delightsome time. We hope to answer every question on your mind about us but peradventure we didn’t, please give us a call or send us an email, so that we can respond to all your needs and requests.

Thank you. 

Professor (Mrs) Bernice O. Adegbehingbe

Faculty Of Clinical Sciences,

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.

Faculty History

The Faculty Clinical Science is about 30 years old. It is one of the three Faculties in the College of Health sciences. The faculty was made up of 11 clinical Department as follows: Anesthesia, Community Health, Dermatology, Obstetrics and Gynecology and Perinatology, Internal Medicine, Mental Health, Ophthalmology, Orthopedic Surgery and Traumatology, Pediatrics and Child Health, Radiology and surgery. All these departments have well developed Clinical Sub-Specialties. The faculty can boast of over 130 erudite scholars and outstanding Clinicians who are also honorary Consultants to the Obafemi Awolowo University Teaching Hospitals Complex, Ile-Ife. The Faculty is committed to the development of the college journal (Nigerian Journal of Health Sciences). Grounds breaking scientific research studies presented during the Faculty Annual Scientific Conference are often published in the College Journal.

Our Goals and Objectives

Faculty of Clinical Sciences is one of the three Faculties in the College of Health Sciences, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.
The broad objectives of the programme of the Faculty are:

  • To provide a sound scientific and professional basis for production of doctors and other health workers who would be capable of working anywhere in Nigeria.
  • To provide such training that would equip the health personnel to provide primary health care (PHC). The curriculum, as run by various departments, is orientated to greater emphasis to primary health care.
  • To produce doctors who would satisfy internationally recognized standards, and who could undertake further training towards specialization.
  • To produce doctors and other health workers with sufficient management skill for effective leadership role in the health care delivery system.

Our Faculty Admission

Students who are admitted into the Faculty are exposed to their preclinical training in core basic medical sciences courses comprising of  Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology at the Faculty of basic Medical Sciences during the year 2 and 3 of the six year programme. The Faculty of Clinical Sciences runs the clinical years in Parts IV, V and VI (400, 500 and 600 levels), of the six-year MB.Ch.B. programme for undergraduate medical students.

The Faculty of Clinical Sciences Academic Board

The Faculty of Clinical Sciences has an Academic Board consisting of the Dean, Vice Dean, Heads of Departments in the Faculty and full-time teachers of the various clinical disciplines.  The primary function of this body is to monitor progress in the execution of the various aspects of the MBChB Programme.  They also offer solutions to problems where necessary and many times assist the Dean and Heads of Departments in an advisory capacity. The non academic members of the Faculty consist of administrative, technical and clerical staff members.

Dean's Profile

Prof. (Mrs) B. O. Adegbehingbe - Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences

Prof. (Mrs) B. O. Adegbehingbe

Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences

Talk to us