Obafemi Awolowo University

Talk to us

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Information about OAU Certificate and Academic Transcript...Read More

OAU PRO-Chancellor Bags NAL Fellowship Award

Print Email
The Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of Council of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile - Ife, Dr. Yemi Ogunbiyi, has bagged the Fellowship Award of the Nigerian Academy of Letters.

At an elaborate programme for the 21st Convocation and Investiture of New Fellows in J.F. Ade Ajayi Auditorium, University of Lagos, the President of the Academy, Professor Francis Egbokhare, described Dr. Ogunbiyi as a leading light in the world of Literature and Drama whose works have illuminated the artistic paths of the past and present generations both in practical theatre arena and the academics.

Apart from Dr. Ogunbiyi, those also awarded Fellows include: Professors Ademola Dasylva, AbdulRasheed Na' Allah, Sunday Ododo,Ifeoma Onyemelukwe and Albert Oyeleye. Others are Professor Jim Unah, Professor Tanure Ojaide and Mr. Olusegun Adeniyi.

Responding on behalf of other Fellow awardees, Dr. Ogunbiyi assured the Academy of Letters of their readiness to contribute their quotas to her overall development, stressing that payment of their dues and other financial, material commitment would be prompt.

Having lauded the foresight of the founding fathers and the doggedness of the successive leadership to sustain the tempo, Dr. Ogunbiyi then, pledged their loyalty to the present leadership of the Academy.

Nigerian Academy of Letters is a national academy and apex body of arts and literature in Nigeria. It is an autonomous, scholarly and non political state institution for advancing scholarship and public interest in the humanities in the highest level in Nigeria.

Established in 1974, it is currently being governed by executive committee of distinguished professors. Founding Fellows of the Academy include Professor Emeritus Ayo Bamgbose ( Founding President), Professor Emeritus J.F. Ade Ajayi, Professor Emeritus A. E. Afigbo, and Professor Emeritus Adeboye Babalola. Others are Professors Wole Soyinka, Chinua Achebe and J. P. Clark - Bekederemo.

Present at the occasion were the Vice-Chancellor and his wife, Professor and Mrs. Ogunbodede; the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Simeon Bamire; the Registrar, Mrs. Margaret Omosule; the Bursar, Mr. Samson Ayansina; the Librarian, Dr. Femi Oguntuase; the former Chair of the Committee of Deans, Professor Mabayoje Aluko, and the new Chair, Professor Bola Babalola, among others.
Last modified on Saturday, 17 August 2019 09:07

To nurture a teaching and learning community; advance frontiers of knowledge; engender a sense of selfless public service; and add value to African culture.

Talk to us