Obafemi Awolowo University

Talk to us

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Reach out to us: admissionsoffice@oauife.edu.ng | counselling@oauife.edu.ng | transcript@oauife.edu.ng 

Notice of Special Meeting of Senate

Notice is hereby given of the Special Meeting of Senate scheduled for 10.00 a.m. on Tuesday, 25th June, 2019 in the Main Conference Hall, ICT-Driven Knowledge Park, Computer Centre, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife.



  1. Consideration of Final Year Graduating Results.
  1. Change of UTME Subjects/O’ Level Requirements – Department of Demography and Social Statistics

Papers for the meeting have been forwarded to members’ individual e-mail addresses.


          Please keep the date open and kindly attend the meeting punctually.


Nigerian Film Industry and Economic Development: Option for the Youth

Nigerian Film Industry and Economic Development: Option for the Youth

The Faculty of Arts, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife is holding its 2019 Distinguished Guest Lecture on Tuesday 2nd July, 2019 at 11:00 a.m. The Venue is Oduduwa Hall of the University.

The Distinguished Guest Lecturer for this year is Chief Dele Odule. A graduate of Mass Communication, Dele Odule is a versatile actor, director, producer and the current President of Theatre and Motion-Pictures Practitioners of Nigeria (TAMPAN). He is the founder of Dele Odule Dance Troupe. With over 40 years experience in the theatre and movie industry in Nigeria, the TAMPAN president will share with members of the University community, his knowledge of the field, in the usual exploration of the bond between the town and the gown.

The Distinguished Guest Lecture Series is an outreach platform through which the Faculty seeks to promote a healthy exchange of ideas and smooth interaction between theory and practice. The programme is also designed to generate a new body of knowledge towards the realisation of a politically stable and economically developed Nigeria. The goal of the Lecture, no doubt, aligns with the University’s mission of promoting “the advancement of knowledge and its practical application to social, cultural, economic, scientific and technological problems”.

On the occasion, the Faculty will honour and acknowledge the contributions of some artistes drawn from different parts of Nigeria, who have excelled in the Theatre and Film Industry. Among them are Chief Adebayo Salami (Oga Bello), Lagos; Alhaji Alli Nuhu, Kano; and Patience Ozokwo (Mama G), Enugu. Some Artistes who had served the University and retired from the Awovarsity Theatre Company will also be honoured. They include Pa Gboyega Ajayi, Chief Peter Fatomilola, Late Laide Adewale, Chief Tunji Ojeyemi, HRH Oba Abiola Fakoyejo Awosemo, Rogbesin of Tafa Aperin Kingdom, Ife, and Mr. Pade Babatunde. The Stand-up Comedian, Dr. Helen Paul will make a special appearance. The occasion will feature dance and drama performances by invited Troupes. Members of the University community and the general public are cordially invited.

Subscribe to this RSS feed

Talk to us