Postgraduate Studies


Postgraduate education at Obafemi Awolowo University is administered by the Postgraduate College in accordance with academic policies established by the University’s senate and the Postgraduate College Board, a standing committee of Senate.

The Postgraduate College is headed by the Provost who is also the Chairman of the Postgraduate College Board , that is constituted of the Provost, the Deputy Provost, 4 elected representatives of Senate (including the Provost), 2 representatives from each Faculty, the University Librarian and the College Secretary. The Departments, the key operational units, are linked to the Postgraduate College through their respective Departmental and Faculty Postgraduate Committees.

Postgraduate studies and research at Obafemi Awolowo University started in 1964. The first postgraduate programme was established in Pharmacy, one of the foundation faculties and the faculty best placed to mount a postgraduate programme because of its inheritance of considerable infrastructure from the Pharmacy School of the erstwhile Nigerian College of Arts and Science.

Indeed, the second convocation of the University in 1967 witnessed the award of the first and lone Ph.D (in the Animal Science) was awarded in 1976. Today, the University has a postgraduate student enrollment of over 5,000 and offers postgraduate programmes in all Faculties, comprising 16 Postgraduate Diplomas, 106 Masters (including professional degrees), 32 Master of Philosophy and 80 Doctor of Philosophy degree programmes.

The University’s over 9,000 graduate alumni constitute many of the nation’s professionals in many disciplines, including government officials, leading industrialists and prominent researchers and scholars in many Universities.