Faculty of Environmental Design and Management


I warmly welcome everyone to the webpage of the Faculty of Environmental Design and Management (EDM).


Dean's Welcome Address

Welcome Address by Professor Olusegun Adebayo Ogunba,
B.Sc., M.Sc., Ph.D, ANIVS, RSV.
Dean, Faculty of Environmental Design and Management, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile- Ife.

I warmly welcome everyone to the webpage of the Faculty of Environmental Design and Management (EDM), Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria.
The rationale for the disciplines in the Faculty emanates from various activities of human beings which must be accommodated in sustainable, functional and aesthetically pleasing built environments. Accordingly, the constituent disciplines span the design, estimation, construction, control, monitoring, valuation, decoration, management and maintenance of infrastructural and building developments.

The curricula to train students in the Faculty (and generally in the Obafemi Awolowo University) are regularly updated and are definitely at the cutting edge. Our lecturers are highly trained and very prolific in research output. Our graduates occupy the most exalted positions in professional practice.
In October 1990, the Department of Fine and Applied Arts was transferred from the Faculty of Arts to the Faculty of Environmental Design and Management. This made the total number of Departments in the Faculty to increase from five (5) to six (6). The six Departments offered both undergraduate and postgraduate courses.
The vision and mission of the Faculty is to produce articulate, intelligent and forward-looking personnel for the construction industry as well as to advance knowledge and careers through quality learning opportunities and useful interactions with the stakeholders in the industry. The curriculum of each of the programmes of the Faculty is reviewed regularly to meet the ever changing demands of the industry.
The Faculty has seasoned, qualified and experienced lecturers. This is evidenced in the high quality graduates produced by the Faculty. Most of the alumni of the Faculty are holding top posts in consultancy firms, contracting companies, banks, public service, armed forces, and other notable offices in and outside the country.
The affairs of the Faculty have been directed by the following Deans and Acting Dean:

a) Prof. K.A. Wahab 1982 - 1989
b) Prof. Y.L. Fabiyi (Acting) 1989 - 1991
c) Prof. J.R.O. Ojo 1991 - 1995
d) Prof. R.N. Mills–Tettey 1995 - 1997
e) Prof. J.I. Ighalo 1997 - 2001
f) Prof. C.A. Ajayi 2001 - 2005
g) Prof. D.A. Adesanya 2005 - 2009
h) Prof. S.O. Fadare 2009 - 2013
i) Prof. B.T. Aluko 2013 - 2017

This webpage contains additional information about the Departments, staff profiles and research activities of the Faculty. I welcome you all once again and wish you a fulfilled net surfing.

Prof. Olusegun Adebayo Ogunba

Explore Our Departments

Choose from our undergraduate and graduate Departments