Faculty of Education


I welcome you to the website of the Faculty of Education


Dean's Welcome Address

I welcome you to the Faculty of Education website. At the inception of the Faculty, Professor A. Babatunde. Fafunwa was appointed in October 1966 to plan the development of a Department and Faculty of Education at Ife. The first teacher education courses started during 1967/68 session in the new Department of Education, which was organized as an academic unit in the Faculty of Arts.
In October 1967, the Provincial Council approved the creation of Faculty of Education in the University comprising four units of Department of Education, Department of Adult Education, Institute of Education, and School of General Studies, with the foremost educationist, Professor A. Babatunde Fafunwa as the Pioneer Dean.
The Department of General Studies was dissolved in 1976 and Institute of Physical and Health Education which was later changed to Department of Physical and Health Education came into existence. Department of Educational Technology which was previously an autonomous service unit then known as Audio-Visual Centre was made part of the Faculty. By a re-organization proposed by the Faculty and approved by the University Senate, the Department of Educational Foundations and Counselling came into limelight on March 1, 1978.
As time went on, the Faculty became more decentralised with seven departments of:
Department of Educational Administration and Planning;
Department of Educational Foundations and Counselling;
Department of Continuing Education;
Department of Educational Technology;
Department of Physical and Health Education;
Department of Special Education and Curriculum Studies; and Institute of Education.
In response to the developments in the global arena of educational delivery and best practices, the Faculty in 2014, approached the Governing Council of the University for a restructuring. The Council then approved the splitting of the former Department of Special Education and Curriculum Studies into two departments of:
i. Science and Technology Education; and
ii. Arts and Social Science Education
Four other departments were renamed as Department of Educational Management (formerly Department of Educational Administration and Planning); Department of Adult Education and Lifelong Learning (formerly Department of Continuing Education), Department of Educational Technology and Library Studies (formerly Department of Educational Technology) and Department of Kinesiology, Health Education and Recreation (formerly Department of Physical and Health Education). The Faculty now has eight departments.
The Faculty offers both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. The initial undergraduate degree structure in the University was an adaptation of the Ashby Commission recommendations on the training of secondary school level teachers for Nigeria. Thus, the undergraduate courses in Education are combined with the subjects taught in secondary schools which are: Sciences (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Integrated/Mathematics), Social Sciences (Economics, Geography, Political Science, Social Studies) and Arts(English Language, Yoruba, Music, Fine and Applied Arts, History, Religious Studies and French) The Faculty also has undergraduate courses in Adult Education, Guidance and Counselling and Educational Management and Physical and Health Education. At the postgraduate level there are courses in the educational foundation programmes, all leading to PGDE, M.Ed. M.A.Ed. M.Phil. and Ph.D. Furthermore, the Faculty provides for professional development of in-service teachers by running part-time degree programmes in all the courses that exist at the undergraduate level.

Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo is affiliated to the Faculty and the Faculty is also open to more affiliations with other colleges in order to extend service delivery and leadership to wide areas in the nation. In all, the Faculty is positioned to continue to be relevant in producing manpower for the education industry as well as in extending frontiers of knowledge and services in the teaching profession and other relevant endeavours.
On the Faculty website are important pieces of information about the structure of the Faculty, its activities and significant modus operandi that you will find useful. You are welcome once again as you go through the website.

Professor Bonke Adepeju Omoteso,
Acting Dean, Faculty of Education.