Obafemi Awolowo Students win Osun State Maiden Edition of the Digital Nigeria Day 2023


Obafemi Awolowo Students win Osun State Maiden Edition of the Digital Nigeria Day 2023

During the inaugural Digital Nigeria Day 2023 event held at the Government Secretariat in Abeere, Osogbo, Osun State, between October 23 and 24, 2023, a group of students from Obafemi Awolowo University’s Mechanical Engineering Department, under the guidance of Dr. Oluwaseun K. Ajayi, presented their final year project. Their outstanding achievement in this competition made them the overall champions.

This competition featured numerous digital products developed by institutions of higher learning in Osun State, including universities and polytechnics, as well as some secondary schools. The team from Obafemi Awolowo University’s Department of Mechanical Engineering garnered widespread acclaim for their groundbreaking creation: a “3-axis CNC milling machine.” Notably, this innovation was entirely conceived and constructed by the students in Ile-Ife.

The “3-axis CNC milling machine” received accolades for its ingenuity, originality, precision, durability, affordability, and maintainability. It was particularly lauded for its cost-effectiveness and the ability to facilitate parts replacement, thanks to 60% of the components being locally sourced and manufactured. Additionally, the machine’s longevity was highlighted due to the meticulous development of its parts.

The students behind the remarkable accomplishment: Alao Kolawole Oluwaseun, Omotoso Ayodeji Quadri, Thompson Godwin Ayo, Fawole Oluwadamilare Marvellous

Award day: Picture with the Representative of the Governor (Commissioner for Information and Public enlightenment); Chairman House Committee on Innovations; Commissioner for Innovations, Science and Technology (Host Commissioner); The permanent Secretary ministry of Innovations Science and Technology; The Executive Director of Center for Space Research-OAU; Chairman National Science Institute (Osun State); Representative of the President of Women in Information Technology Osun State; Special adviser to the governor on Technology; The awardees and their Supervisor.